GSO Test

Latest News

Show list Show Grid
  • Monday 18 March 2024 Secondary Enterprise Week Our Secondary Department have been working hard on their maths skills this half term. In order to put these skills to the test in a practical way, the classes took it in turns to set their own shops, selling various foods, drinks and other items to staff and students. This gave the students a chance to practice their money skills (and cookery skills!).
  • Friday 15 March 2024 Red Nose Day 2024
  • Friday 15 March 2024 Primary Communication Day 2024 Our speech and language therapy team hosted their annual communication day with Primary and EY classes on Friday 15th March. Each class had their own slot where they came to listen to a bespoke sensory story about a Unicorn who had got lost. A range of communication strategies and techniques were modelled and we had brilliant engagement from all of the classes which was so lovely to see. We look forward to the Secondary and Post 16 communication day in the summer term.
  • Friday 8 March 2024 World Book Day 2024
  • Thursday 7 March 2024 Table Cricket Competition - Mar 2024 In March, a group of keen cricketers from across Secondary and Primary ventured over to Guildford to take part in a table cricket competition against other local schools. Each student showed off their excellent skills at batting, bowling and fielding and successfully won one of the matches! There was a lot of competitive spirit shown from all that played, and it was a great chance to meet and chat to new friends. We are all looking forward to the next competition!
  • Friday 9 February 2024 February Newsletter 2024
  • Wednesday 7 February 2024 Chinese New Year - 2024
  • Wednesday 31 January 2024 Food Project - Jan 2024
  • Monday 29 January 2024 Ski Trip - Jan 2024
  • Friday 15 December 2023 Christmas Newsletter 2023 Christmas is now upon us so what better way to get into the festive spirit than reading our Christmas Newsletter?
  • Friday 8 December 2023 Christmas Lunch - Dec 2023 This year the whole school came together to enjoy our annual Christmas lunch with all the trimmings, cooked by our amazing school caterers, Laura and Penny. It was delicious (as always) so a big thank you from all of the staff and students!
  • Wednesday 6 December 2023 Christmas Sing-a-long - Dec 2023 Our Secondary Department performed their annual festive music event where each class performed a christmas song to a packed audience of parents and carers.
  • Monday 4 December 2023 Christmas Grotto - Dec 2023 We were lucky enough to have a special visit from Santa, his elves and some of his animal helpers! All of the students got to meet him and receive a special gift-wrapped present.
  • Tuesday 28 November 2023 Sleep Workshop
  • Wednesday 22 November 2023 Singing Hands - Nov 2023 We were delighted to welcome 'Singing Hands' Suzanne and Tracy to Portesbery to help us celebrate our 50th birthday and Makaton friendly status. They performed 4 concerts throughout the day, with nursery rhymes and action songs for our younger pupils to the latest pop hits for our older students. As you can see from the photos a fantastic time was had by all!
  • Friday 17 November 2023 Children in Need - Nov 2023 Post 16 organised a fun-packed afternoon to raise funds for Children in Need. Pupils were invited to dress in something spotty and then had a choice of activities including making Pudsey lollipops and a disco. Lots of fun was had by all and £68.57 was raised for this worthy cause. Thank you for your support!
  • Tuesday 31 October 2023 Halloween Pumpkins - Oct 2023 As part of our Halloween activities, Post-16 created a pumpkin patch for classes to visit, pick and pay for their pumpkins, and then decorate them. As you can see lots of fun was had by all! Congratulations to Ash class who won the pumpkin competition!
  • Friday 20 October 2023 October Newsletter 2023 Our first newsletter of this academic year is now ready to read. Click on the link below to discover what we have been getting up to in the first half of the Autumn term.
  • Friday 21 July 2023 Summer Newsletter 2023
  • Wednesday 19 July 2023 Portesbery Variety Show 2023 This year we held our first Variety Show where students were invited to show off the singing, dancing and acting skills.
  • Thursday 13 July 2023 BBQ and Presentation Evening 2023 Our annual BBQ and Presentation Evening celebrates our pupils' achievements during the academic year.
  • Wednesday 12 July 2023 Secondary Sports Day 2023 There was lots of fun and games at this year's Secondary Sports Day.
  • Tuesday 11 July 2023 Primary Sports Day 2023 The sun was shining for this year's Primary Sports Day.
  • Sunday 25 June 2023 Portesbery's 50th Birthday Celebration In June we celebrated the school's 50th Birthday with a party and Summer Fayre.
  • Friday 26 May 2023 May Newsletter 2023
  • Tuesday 11 April 2023 Farewell to Kirsty Hodge
  • Monday 3 April 2023 Easter Newsletter 2023
  • Monday 20 March 2023 World Book Day 2023 We had a great start to our Book Week! Everyone was invited to dress up as a character from one of their favourite story books, and our Primary and Secondary departments enjoyed showing off their costumes to their friends!
  • Wednesday 8 March 2023 Adaptive Clothing for Kids Adaptive, Sensory-kind Clothing for Kids
  • Tuesday 14 February 2023 February Newsletter 2023 Our half-termly newsletter is ready to view online.
  • View archived news items

Subscribe to our news as an RSS feed

This page is awaiting content.